Un-purified Hearts

by Adrian Flores

It’s been a while, nothing has really changed. The motion within my heart continues to stir as I climb the mountain, striving to cling and make my way to the top. I’m in motion, that is what counts. Which brings me to my post today. I recently went to confession and the priest finally said something that has been an on going theme and reflection for me this week and last week. He said “Continue the struggle, it is in the struggle that we continue to grow”

To be honest, I have not been able to shake it off, the phrase ever beating my chest and ripping me from the inside out. But i’ve continued to fight. I’ve continued to turn away and keep my mind at ease. My shoulders increase in tension but  my eyes on the goal, to be a man destined to pursue God even the in the lesser moments of defeat.  I have I mentioned in previous post that conversion is a long, long, I mean long process. If you haven’t figured it out for yourself, prepare, and I mean prepare yourself to be challenged and be prepared to face whatever it is you struggle with and prepare yourself to frequent the sacrament as often as possible. Why…because

God removes the sin of the one who makes humble confession, and thereby the devil loses the sovereignty he had gained over the human heart.

– Saint Bernard

Confession is a humbling experience and it is in the confessional that I find myself the most vulnerable. Nothing to hide but to put all before the confessor who listens patiently behind the screen. Then I kneel patiently waiting for him to recite the words.

God the Father of mercies, through the death and resurrection of His Son, has reconciled the world to Himself and sent the Holy Spirit among us for the forgiveness of sins. Through the ministry of the Church, may God give you pardon and peace. I absolve you from your sins, in the name of the Father, and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.

What a gift and what a reminder to become fully humbled before God the father. To be aware of our sinfulness and struggle. It is in that confessional that we, I ,  kneel and truly reunite my, our, un-purified hearts with Christ in order to make it pure once more. So my challenge to you today is to find time to go to confession. To not turn your back on the one who desire to make you great, to make you whole.

